May 27, 2014

The 5 Love Languages

Happy Tuesday! How are you? I hope everything is going well for you and that each day has been coming as a blessing. Today I feel like talking about how people express love, since last week we explored a little bit of the importance of doing love. I actually learned about the "Five Love Languages" about six months ago doing a workshop focused on leadership from the Jesuits' perspective. The workshop looked at leadership as a quality that could be developed essentially through finding your strengths and talents, and then harnessing them to bring them out to help others.

So, we spent about three hours talking about these Love Languages.
As you could probably assume, there are many examples of people showing love, and they are all different. But some smart people got together and put these ways of showing love into five categories: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. In general, people feel a stronger affinity towards one or two of these. And (hopefully I phrase this clearly) sometimes, a person may prefer to receive love in one language but tend to also give love in another. 

Anyhow, I thought it would be fun for us to figure out what our main love languages are, so here is a link to a quiz! (Note: I am linking to the "singles" version so that it would tell us about how we love universally, but there is also a "relationship version.")
Here is my ranking from my top love language down to the bottom one:
  1. Quality Time
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Physical Touch
  4. Words of Affirmation and Receiving Gifts
What were your results? Did you expect them to turn our like that? Why? Please share in the comments below!

The workshop I took emphasized the uniqueness of each language, and that people working to foster leadership in themselves and others learn about the many ways to express love, eventually growing to speak all of the languages fluently.

Kinda, cool, huh?

Well, that's pretty much all I have for now! A quick but fun post! Hope you have a great day, and experience the wonderful joy that comes from being loved.

Smile on,
-Riley XO


  1. That's very interesting. Thanks for the link! My love languages are 1.) quality time 2.) acts of service and words of affirmation 3.) receiving gifts 4.) physical touch. I expected it! It fascinates me how different people have different ways of expressing love. These types of quizzes can be so useful in helping us understand each other.

  2. Thank you for your comment! I'm glad you enjoyed the quiz and I hope I'll be able to find some other fun ones. It's pretty interesting because the quizzes are kind of an objective way of analyzing how we feel about ourselves. Have a great day Tara!

  3. Hi There,

    Great post! I really enjoyed reading it and the quiz was very interesting! My ranking was: 1) Quality Time 2) Words of Affirmation and Acts of Service 3) Physical Touch 4) Receiving Gifts.

    Have a fantastic day!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...